Teriyaki chicken is one of my favorite chicken dishes. It is usually marinated with some teriyaki sauce before it is baked or grilled before being served with a side and a drink of choice. The chicken is a great source of protein and vitamins and is gluten-free, but how about the teriyaki sauce? Is it gluten-free? Let us explore!
Is Teriyaki Chicken Healthy?
Teriyaki chicken may be healthy depending on the sodium and other ingredients present in the teriyaki sauce, the amount of sugar present, the method of cooking the chicken (grilled or fried), which determines the amount of calories and trans fat present, and the portion size consumed.
The teriyaki sauce is the major ingredient in this dish, and with the loads of brands I have used, I have discovered that many are packed with sodium, which could impact your health negatively over time if you consume a lot of it. It could lead to stroke, high blood pressure, and heart disease. The best way to ensure your sauce is healthy is to prepare it yourself using low-sodium ingredients such as rice vinegar, pineapple juice, low-sodium soy sauce, sesame oil, ginger, brown sugar, coconut aminos, and garlic.
Grilling is a healthier option than frying when it comes to cooking chicken. Fried chicken has high trans fat, which is unhealthy, while grilled chicken has an insignificant amount of fat, shrinks the calorie content, and is a great source of lean protein.
The amount you consume at a time can also determine if teriyaki chicken will be healthy for you over time. Irrespective of the food type, consuming too much food will lead to weight gain and other health problems.
What does Teriyaki Chicken Taste like?
Teriyaki sauce is characterized by a compound flavor of tangy, sweet, salty, and savory. The caramelization of the honey, sugar, or syrup and the inclusion of sweet wine give it a sweet taste and a glossy texture. The garlic, ginger, and soy neutralize the sweetness a bit, which leaves us with the savory flavor that refines our chicken or beef dish into an irresistible treat.
Is Teriyaki Chicken Gluten-free?
Traditional Teriyaki chicken is not gluten-free because of the wheat-containing soy sauce used in making the sauce.
However, if you are making teriyaki chicken at home, it could be gluten-free, as you could use alternatives like tamari or gluten-free soy sauces. Ensure to check the label and confirm that any ingredient used is gluten-free and does not contain wheat in any form.
Is Teriyaki chicken without sauce just plain chicken?
Teriyaki chicken without the sauce is usually marinated with teriyaki sauce and grilled or pan-fried. The distinctive feature of teriyaki chicken is the teriyaki sauce, which is typically made with soy sauce, which in most cases contains gluten.
Ingredients in teriyaki chicken and their gluten status
|Soy Sauce or Tamari||Typically contains gluten (use gluten-free alternatives).|
|Sugar or honey||Gluten-Free|
|Mirin (sweet rice wine)||Typically gluten-free (check the label)|
|Chicken||Gluten-Free (Check for Cross-Contamination)|
|Cooking Oil||Gluten-Free (Check for Cross-Contamination)|
Gluten-Free Teriyaki Chicken Sauce Brands
Kikkoman Gluten-Free Teriyaki Marinade and Sauce
Kikkoman offers two varieties of easy-to-find gluten-free teriyaki sauce and marinade: 50% less sodium and Original. Kikkoman is a popular Japanese brand, and you can find their products at almost all grocery stores.
San-J Teriyaki Sauce
Just like the Kikkoman brand, San-J has two gluten-free teriyaki sauce options, and one has 50% less sodium than the other. San-J is primarily involved in making gluten-free products, so you are safe from cross-contamination. San-J’s sauces are also non-GMO, kosher, and FOODMAP-friendly.
Primal Kitchen No Soy Teriyaki Sauce & Marinade
One of the best soy-free, gluten-free teriyaki sauces you can get is the Primal Kitchen No Soy Teriyaki Sauce & Marinade. This sauce is also vegan, paleo, keto, non-GMO, and Whole 30. This sauce is suitable for anyone with or without diet restrictions. You can also indulge in their Island Teriyaki, with its tropical twist.
Coconut Secret Soy-Free Teriyaki Sauce
Not only is this product certified gluten-free, but it is also soy-free, dairy-free, and low-glycemic, as all Coconut Secret products are sweetened with coconut sugar, a low-glycemic sweetener.
Is the teriyaki chicken at Panda Express gluten free?
No, Panda Express teriyaki chicken is not gluten-free, as they prepare their entrees with shared cooking equipment, and the risk of cross-contamination is very high.
Is boar’s head teriyaki chicken gluten free?
All meats, condiments, and cheese from Boar’s Head are gluten-free. The teriyaki-style chicken breast sold at Boar’s Head is gluten-free, as stated on their website. The good thing is that they have been making gluten-free dishes since a very long time ago.
Is Subway teriyaki chicken gluten free?
Subway’s Teriyaki Chicken, as a standard menu item, is not considered gluten-free. The Teriyaki Chicken contains soy sauce, which typically contains wheat and is a source of gluten.
Standard teriyaki chicken isn’t gluten-free as it contains soy sauce, which has wheat as one of its condiments. To have a gluten-free teriyaki chicken, you have to make it yourself or visit restaurants that prioritize gluten-free meals.