13.6 C
New York
Sunday, December 10, 2023

Is Kewpie Mayo Gluten Free? Everything You Need To Know

Can you imagine grilled cheese sandwiches, coleslaw, potato salads, and silky dressings without mayonnaise, an essential condiment that pulls them together? That creamy texture and savory, tangy flavor are always a delight to the palate.

While kewpie mayonnaise can make most meals quite delicious and is the unsung hero of most appetizers and main course recipes, being gluten-sensitive stresses the need to probe into the product to determine if the process of production and ingredients used are gluten-free.

This article explores kewpie mayonnaise’s health benefits, gluten status, ingredients used, and a homemade kewpie mayonnaise recipe that you will love.

What is Kewpie Mayonnaise?

This luscious condiment has been stocked up in Japanese kitchens since 1925 but has recently become popular in the United States. Beyond its eggy umami and sweet, tangy flavor, it is richer and smoother than your average mayo and is distinguished by its signature soft squeeze bottle. The absence of water in some kewpie mayonnaise means it is available for between $6 and $16.

This is a mayo that you just have to taste to understand its goodness. In the making of the kewpie mayonnaise, rice vinegar or apple cider vinegar is used, and only egg yolks are used, guaranteeing a lush, smooth texture (custard consistency) and a deeper yellow color that we love to see on our sandwiches.

Kewpie mayonnaise is used in sandwiches, pancakes, and potato salads, and it can be used to finish an array of dishes. I enjoy this mayonnaise in potato salads, and so do my kids.

Is Kewpie Mayonnaise Healthy?

The initial taste of kewpie is slightly fruity and creamier. The egginess could be felt, but it won’t overpower your palate. It is devoid of added sugar. In comparison with the American counterparts that use whole eggs, kewpie uses only yolks, which are a great source of minerals and vitamins like folate, iron, and vitamin A.

However, kewpie mayo has a high fat and calorie content. In a tablespoon of kewpie mayonnaise, 11 grams of fat and 100 calories are derived, making it not the best choice for people who are watching their weight, as you could easily surpass your daily calorie intake by snacking on sandwiches creamed with kewpie mayo.

Kewpie is low in net carbs but should be avoided by people on a keto diet, as it contains soybean and canola oil, which have high-fat profiles.

Compared to other regular mayonnaises, kewpie mayo is healthy as it contains 50% fewer calories, more protein, fewer fats, and fewer carbs per serving making it a healthier option.

Is Kewpie Mayo Gluten Free?

The majority of kewpie mayo varieties are gluten-free. They contain ingredients that are devoid of gluten, like distilled vinegar such as apple cider vinegar, rice vinegar, MSG, mustard flour, salt, etc. And they have gluten-free vegan kosher mayo, which you could just get right away.

Does kewpie mayo have gluten?

However, some kewpie mayonnaises, such as those containing barley malt or malt vinegar, which are both not gluten-free, make it essential for you to check the label of any variety of kewpie mayonnaise you intend to buy, to ensure you get a gluten-free kewpie mayo.

What Are the Ingredients in Kewpie Mayonnaise?

Below is a basic table of the major ingredients used in making kewpie mayonnaise and their gluten status:

Ingredient Gluten Status
Vegetable Oil Gluten-free
Egg Yolks Gluten-free
Vinegar Gluten-free
Water Gluten-free
Salt Gluten-free
Sugar Gluten-free
Monosodium Glutamate (MSG) Gluten-free
Mustard Gluten-free
Spices Gluten-free
Preservatives May contain gluten (check specific brand)

Is Kewpie mayo Dairy Free?

Kewpie mayo is dairy free as it is made from vegetable oil, eggs and vinegar. It doesn’t contain any animal byproducts like milk, cheese, or any other dairy ingredients,¬† making it suitable for individuals with lactose intolerance.

Read: Do egg roll wrappers contain gluten?

How to find a gluten-free Mayo

Most mayo brands are free from gluten sources such as barley, wheat, and rye, (as they are not required in the traditional recipe) which could trigger gluten sensitivity symptoms such as bloating, diarrhea, loss of appetite, and constipation in people with celiac diseases.

However, to achieve a specific flavor or increase the shelf life, some manufacturers may use gluten-containing ingredients and preservatives. Some mayo is made with undistilled vinegar obtained from grains, which is obviously a source of gluten.

Gluten is usually expelled from vinegar during the distillation process, making distilled vinegar gluten-free. The best way to ensure you don’t get a gluten-containing mayo while shopping is to thoroughly examine the label.

The Food and Drug Administration states that for a product to contain “no gluten”, “gluten-free”, “without gluten”, and “free gluten” labels, it should contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten, making it safe for people who don’t need to consume gluten in their diets.

Since all manufacturers are not legally bound to include gluten-free labels on their products, a product could still be gluten-free but not have a gluten-free label. This is why you have to rely on the ingredient list or shop from brands that are certified gluten-free, or you can take advantage of our homemade kewpie mayo gluten-free recipe, which we will be revealing shortly.

Read: Is there Gluten in Aioli? Find out!

What Brands Of Mayonnaise Are Gluten Free?

  • Trader Joe’s
  • Kraft
  • Heinz
  • Primal Kitchen
  • Veganaise
  • Duke’s
  • Blue Plate
  • Hellman’s

Listing the brands here doesn’t mean all their mayo products are gluten-free, as some of their varieties may contain gluten, which is why you have to look out for gluten-free tags.

Homemade gluten-free Kewpie Mayo recipe

Being gluten-sensitive doesn’t mean your feeding should become boring; we only have to get around it with ingredients that are safe for us and enjoy that snack that we love so much.

Here is a fun way to prepare a super delicious Japanese kewpie recipe using the following:

Ingredients

  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1/4 teaspoon of dashi powder
  • 2 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar or rice vinegar for its tangy, fruity taste
  • 1 teaspoon of plain old granulated white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of Dijon mustard (I prefer Maille for its less spicy taste)
  • 1 teaspoon of kosher salt (you can use 3/4 of a tablespoon of iodized salt).
  • A cup of neutral, less intrusive-tasting canola oil or grapeseed oil

How to make

  1. Combine the ingredients: With a food processor, mix all the ingredients (aside from the oil) until the sugar and dashi are dissolved. Whisk for two minutes or more if the mayo has a thin texture.
  2. Time to add the oil: Gently add the oil while the mixing is going on until the oil has homogenized. At this point, the resulting mixture should be thick and have a light yellow color. If it isn’t thick at this point, increase the speed of the processor for a little while longer.
  3. Transfer to a container: Bottle and refrigerate your gluten-free kewpie mayo in a glass jar or any container of your choice.

Is Kewpie mayo good on sandwiches?

Kewpie mayo has a tender flavor that doesn’t overpower your dish making it great for egg, chicken, chicken club, ham and cheese sandwiches, veggies sandwiches, and just about any sandwich, that is how versatile it could be.

Final Thoughts

The subtle flavor of Kewpie Mayo makes it great for any meal. And if you’re not sold on making the mayo at home yourself, do not be dismayed, as they have a vegan gluten-free Kosher version that could be used by anyone following a diet restriction and is made purely from all-plant ingredients and distilled vinegar.

Did you try out our recipe? Let us know how it turned out.

Cortiso Davids
Cortiso Davidshttps://wearepintsized.com
My culinary adventure began at an early age when I would stand on a chair to help my mom stir pancake batter. Over the years, I've honed my skills and knowledge, drawing inspiration from family recipes, celebrated chefs, and the vibrant food cultures that make our world so diverse and fascinating.

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

0FansLike
0FollowersFollow
0SubscribersSubscribe

Latest Articles