Divinity, a creamy, airy, super-sweet confectionary with a nutty undertone and a hint of vanilla, is more like an old-fashioned meringue recipe. It can be likened to something in between marshmallow, fudge, and nougat, hence the name. While its taste can be described as divine, is divinity gluten free? Let us explore!
What is Divinity?
Divinity is a candy with roots traced as far back as 1915. It is made from corn syrup, egg whites, and sugar. with nuts and chopped dried fruits as an optional ingredient. A variation known as sea foam can be made by replacing the sugar with brown sugar. Divinity can be likened to fudge, nougat, or marshmallow.
To make divinity, in a large saucepan, corn syrup and sugar are combined with water over medium heat and stirred until thoroughly dissolved. Once heated, the resulting mix is poured over beaten egg whites and then further beaten until the confectionary holds shape. For tastier and better results, these candies are made in a less humid environment.
What is divinity made of?
- Sugar: Granulated sugar is a primary ingredient in divinity, providing sweetness and contributing to the candy’s structure.
- Corn Syrup: Corn syrup is often used to add moisture to the mixture and prevent the sugar from crystallizing, contributing to the smooth texture of divinity.
- Egg Whites: Egg whites are beaten until stiff peaks form, creating a meringue-like structure in the candy. This step is crucial for achieving the light and airy consistency of divinity.
- Water: Some recipes may include water to adjust the consistency of the candy.
- Vanilla Extract: Vanilla extract is commonly added for flavor, enhancing the overall taste of the divinity.
- Nuts: Chopped nuts, such as pecans or walnuts, are often folded into the divinity mixture, adding a nutty flavor and texture.
What’s the Difference Between Nougat and Divinity?
Nougat and divinity share a lot of similarities, even more than divinity shares with meringue. I have recently seen a lot of nougat recipes, but when I take a deep look, these guys are just making divinity.
Both nougat and divinity require you to turn heated sugar syrup into beaten egg whites and then beat them together. When it comes to nougat, this process is repeated two times, and the water content of its syrup is of differing levels when compared with divinity, which makes nougat chewier and heavier.
Divinity and meringue
While meringue and divinity share similar ingredients, such as whipped egg whites and sugar, meringue (which is more like pavlova) is made without turning the sugar into syrup. You just have to whip the ingredients together and bake, but divinity doesn’t require you to bake it. Further, divinity possesses a chewier and softer texture, while meringue has a crispy and dry texture.
Is Divinity Gluten free?
Fortunately, divinity is made with only sugar syrup, corn syrup, and egg whites, which means it is gluten-free and can be safely consumed by gluten-sensitive individuals. However, ensure to check if the toppings are gluten-free (they usually are).
There is no need for wheat or other sources of gluten in this recipe, as if it is prepared in a less humid place with the right amount of ingredients, it will always turn out well. The common source of gluten when you consume the commercially made versions is cross-contamination, which can be negated if you communicate your dietary restrictions effectively.
Divinity is one hell of an impressive southern dessert. It creates an impression before you taste it, and it cements that impression afterward. Just like fudge meringue and pavlova, it is gluten-free and a safe treat we can all enjoy.
Do you have any suggestions? Let us know your thoughts.